BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Cuban Pork 2 Ways – Bumpkin

I had a pork shoulder roast, a HUGE pork shoulder roast.  So, I knew there would be leftovers.  When I was deciding what to do with it, I went ahead and just decided to make 2 dinners with it and went with Cuban. 

Roast Cuban Pork
adapted from elly says opa!

1 (2-3) lb. pork roast
1/4 to 1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. cumin
2 dried California chilis
1 Tbsp. oregano
1 large onion, thinly sliced
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 oranges, juiced
2 lemons, juiced
2 limes, juiced
1/2 cup chicken broth

I had every intention of doing this in the crock pot, it’s the perfect recipe for it.  However, the HUGE aspect of the roast meant it didn’t FIT in my crock pot.  So, I roasted it in the oven on 300-degrees, covered, for A LOT of hours…until falling apart and deliciousness set in!

You SHOULD rub all the ingredients all over the meat, wrap in plastic and let it marinate overnight, but I didn’t.  It cooks long enough in some pretty hefty flavors that it was still flavorful.  Really, I find with a nice bone-in pork roast that sometimes even with just a bit of salt and pepper, it is still delicious.  Outside of a great rib-eye, and a perfectly marinated flank steak… I love no other meat as much as I LOVE pork!

Image

The first night I did the pork as tacos.  The kids did burrito style with the beans and everything in a tortilla.  They aren’t fans of corn tortillas so they used flour, added a bunch of fixins and ate seconds. Hubby and I went for the taco route, simple and yummy. I like corn tortillas and when I don’t have time to get down to the Mexican market for homemade, I like these hand-made style corn tortillas for soft tacos. The meat is versatile enough you can do just about anything with it (to be honest even after 2 dinners there were still leftovers so I made a pan of green chile enchiladas with it and took that over to a friend who needed some “care”).  I’m tellin ya….HUGE pork roast!

LIke the original recipe I made a jicama slaw.  I just diced half a jicama, 1 small red bellpepper, about 1/2c. fresh cilantro.  Then I used fresh key lime juice, Tapatio sauce, salt and pepper to taste.  It added a nice flavor and cruch to the tacos.  I served dinner with black beans and rice (mixed together because that is how we Costa Ricans eat our frijoles negros, gallo pinto style!)

Image

The second night I did El Cubanos.  Basically, a cuban grilled cheese.  They are REALLY yummy!  They are supposed to be on a hoagie roll type bread, but I used sourdough instead.  They get pressed like a panini.  Super easy, and a crowd pleaser:
shredded cuban pork
sliced ham
sliced pickles
swiss cheese
mustard
buttered bread

Have some fun…use your leftovers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers