BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Bombay Shrimp Curry – Bumpkin’s Version

Earlier this week, when we decided we would collaborate on a food blog, Townie mentioned her plans to make shrimp for dinner.  I knew we had rib-eyes thawed for that night but, as it was the last night the hubby was in town for several days, I was quite happy with a shrimp dish as our first to blog about.  With the hubby out of town, EASY is always the key word and shrimp is about as quick as it gets.  Lucky for me, my 3 kidlets will eat shrimp so, I always have it in the house.  I also, miraculously, had all the other ingredients, too.  SWEET…no trips to the grocery store while flying solo with the rugrats!

Having never made this recipe before I had no idea what to expect on the HOT-quotient so, I did pull the kids’ portions out before adding the “picey-picey” stuffs and we were good to go.  Honestly, it could have used a little more kick for my taste and I would make it with stock (chicken or fish) next time rather than the water, just to add another flavor layer so it doesn’t seem so flat.  I also have HUGE issue with instant rice…barf!  So, I used jasmine rice in my rice cooker and added some shredded coconut for extra coconutty flavor.

All in all, a yummy, easy meal but, please pardon the photography…when hubby heads out of town the good camera usually goes with him!

Bombay Shrimp Curry

adapted from cooking light

 Ingredients

5t canola oil, divided

1-2lbs peeled and deveined shrimp

3/4 t salt, divided

1/5 t pepper

1 1/2 c. prechopped onion (although I had NO patience to chop onions, I HATE chopping onions so I used a bunch of green onions, chopped)

1 1/2 T curry powder

1 T mustard seeds

1/4 t cinnamon

1/8 t ground red pepper

1 1/3 c hot water

1 cup frozen peas

1 can coconut milk + water to make 3 cups

1 1/2 c rice (I used jasmine but I think basmati would be nice, too)

1/2 c shredded coconut

1 T fresh cilantro, chopped

Preparation

1. Add rice, coconut and coconut milk-water mixture to a pot, cover and cook on medium-low, until done, about 30 minutes.  Or, if you have a rice-cooker, put it all in the cooker, cover, start and walk away!

2. Heat a Dutch oven/cast iron skillet over medium-high eat.  Add 2 teaspoons oil; swirl to coat. Sprinkle shrimp with about half the salt and pepper.  Add shrimp to pan; cook a couple of minutes on each side, or until done. Remove from pan.

3. Reduce heat to medium; add remaining 3 teaspoons of oil; swirl to coat.  Add onion; cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add 1/2 remaining salt and pepper and all remaining dry spices; cook about a minute, stirring constantly.  Add hot water and peas; bring to a boil.  Cover and reduce heat to medium-low; simmer about 5 minutes.  Return shrimp to pan; cook a minute.

4. Plate rice and shrimp mixture.  Sprinkle with fresh cilantro.

Leave a Reply

