BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork – Bumpkin

Tonight’s dinner was super perfect!  The hubby is still out of town so, CROCK POT to the rescue.  I LOVE my crockpot, especially when I just want dinner to be done when I get home.

Townie sent me the recipe yesterday and I figured well (1) that is easy and (2) I have the ingredients.  Voila!  However, I go to throw everything in the pot this morning and realize I don’t have Root Beer.  I also don’t have Cola, Lemon-Lime, nada!  So, I am committed because my tenderloin is thawed and I don’t want to have to cook, COOK when I get home from work tonight.  I go digging through my pantry, which thank goodness is a small room unto itself, and I come across a brand new bottle of Club Soda.  Don’t ask me where we got it, this is a Tonic household.  But, it isn’t expired and it has never been opened.  I start trying to figure out what I have that will make Club Soda sickeningly sweet, like Root Beer and the maple syrup catches my eye.  You should have seen the looks on my girlies’ faces as I pour those ingredients into a crock pot with meat!  It was almost worth pulling out the camera for!

But, you know what, it totally worked and those sour faced kidlets ate seconds!  YUMMY sandwiches for dinner.

I like my pulled pork with cole slaw so, I threw together some slaw, added some home made applesauce to the plate and 10 minutes after getting home we were sitting down for dinner!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

adaped from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 (2 pound) pork tenderloin
  • 1 2/3 c Club Soda
  • 1/3 c Maple Syrup
  • 1/2 – 1 c of  your favorite barbecue sauce
  • 8 crusty rolls
  • cole slaw

Directions

  1. Place the pork tenderloin in a slow cooker; pour the soda and syrup over the meat. Cover and cook on low until well cooked and the pork shreds easily, 6 to 7 hours. Note: the actual length of time may vary according to individual slow cooker. (I put it in right before work and turned it off when I got home….10 hours later).  Stir in barbecue sauce. Serve over crusty rolls with cole slaw.
One response

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

    November 21, 2011 at 2:58 am

Leave a Reply

