BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

honey garlic chicken in the crockpot – townie & bumpkin

sometimes crockpot meals turn out awesome – sometimes they’re just ok – and sometimes they’re terrible..     this one turned out terrible for me!  partly it was my fault.    chicken breasts on low for 10 hours just dont bode well…  i should have put frozen breasts in..  and i used tamari instead of low sodium soy sauce.. dont ask why — so the whole thing was overdone and REALLY salty!   would it have been less salty with the soy sauce?  who knows…  id be willing to try this again – but with a much LESS cooking time!

NOTE FROM BUMPKIN – I couldn’t bring myself to photograph this dinner.  I made it with all the correct ingredients, including chicken thighs.  I put them in frozen (tsk tsk) because I knew it would be all day before I would get home to “check” on the meal.  The skin from the chicken made the sauce really oily, which separeted from everything else.  The chicken was fall-off-the-bone tender but everything was in slimy pieces.  I served it over rice and where Townie’s photo looks like a piece of poop (LOL) next to noodles, mine looked like vomit on rice.  The flavor was ok.  I MIGHT make it again.  But, more likely if I am going to just throw chicken in a crockpot I might just grab my “standby” ingredients and have it be less oily and less salty.

HONEY GARLIC CHICKEN

adapted from a year of slow cooking

The Ingredients.

2.5-3 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3 garlic cloves, smashed and chopped
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 cup   Tamari
1/2 cup ketchup
1/3 cup honey


The Directions.

Use a 4-quart slow cooker (if using a 6-quart, this will cook faster. Check after 3 hours on high, 5 hours on low).
Put the chicken into your cooker. In a small bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients, then pour evenly over the top.
Cook on low for 6 hours or high for 3-4 (I’d go with low—).
Serve with basmati rice and steamed or roasted vegetables.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: honey garlic chicken in the crockpot « ilonaskitchen

  2. your poop log on noodles looks as bad as my vomit on rice 🙂

    October 27, 2011 at 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

