BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Quick Crock Pot Pork Roast – Bumpkin

This week we decided to just wing it with the recipes.  I asked Townie if she had a pork roast in the freezer, as I had one thawing.  Rather than cook the same recipe we decided to both make something with our pork roasts and post.  She opted for the delicious (we are having it tonight) Asian Pork – seen in her post below – and I went with some of my old standbys.  Namely – a crock pot, chicken broth and my dad’s super secret dry rub, which contains brown sugar and chipotle, for sweet and smoky flavors, in addition to about a gazillion other yummy spices.  I usually also throw in a ton of chopped garlic but didn’t this time because I was going “simple”, as I was doing this right before walking out the door for work..  I rubbed up the pork roast, threw it in my pot with some broth, put the lid on and went to work.

When I returned home, my hubby had baked some garnet yams in their skins, which we served with a pat of butter and pumpkin pie spice.  I threw together a mixed green salad with multi-colored bellpeppers, pomegranate seeds and feta tossed in olive oil and pomegranate red wine vinegar.  Voila, dinner was served.  There is absolutely NO reason to not have a beautiful dinner on a work night.

We have a monthly dinner with friends and this month was our turn to host.     With some simple ingredients on standby, there is  no reason not to “entertain” just because you work all day.  I usually would have planned a dessert but got home late from work the night before and I knew Krista wouldn’t mind coming to my rescue….this time!  She brought over some spice cupcakes with fresh peach filling and delicious cream cheese frosting.

Does this meal not SCREAM fall to you!?!?!

Ingredients

Bone in pork shoulder roast

dry rub of choice (I like dad’s because it has a great mixture of sweet and smoky, but you can use whatever you like.  There are TONS on the market)

1 can of chicken broth

chopped garlic/onions/to taste (which I opted out of this time)

Steps

1. Literally chuck it all in a crock pot, cover and cook on high for 8 hours.

2. ENJOY fall off the bone deliciousness!

 

2 responses

  1. Aunt Jo

    Where did she get fresh peaches this time of year?

    Your meal sounds yummy!!

    November 20, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    • Aunt Jo, She made the filling from fresh peaches in the summer (then froze it.) Palisade, town over from us, has the GREATEST peaches ever.

      November 21, 2011 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

