BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Brown Sugar and Garlic Chicken – Bumpkin

Townie and I both had chicken out this week.  I knew she was making Bourbon Chicken, which tends to be pretty sweet so I opted to make a sweet version of chicken as well.

I was on Pinterest, my new internet addiction, when I came across a recipe for Brown Sugar Garlic chicken.  The photo looked yummy and a quick browse at the recipe showed it was super easy because I had all the ingredients and it all gets thrown in a crock pot!  I went to “repin” the post to my boards only to discover I hadn’t logged in!  So, when I logged into the site I could no longer find the recipe.  But, I could “remember” most of what  I had read so that is what I did, with my usual modifications.

The chicken was definitely sweet, but fall off the bone (had I used bone in cuts) tender.  I served it over plain steamed rice with a green veggie as a side, thrown into a bowl to make a one dish meal.  The kids LOVED it!  I might make it again for an easy meal I know the kidlets will eat without fussing.  I suggest hot sauce of some kind, for the grown ups.

Ingredients

2lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs

1/4c brown sugar

1/4c chopped crystallized ginger

1/2 can Sprite/7-Up although I used Fresca because it’s what I had

4T chopped garlic

4T soy sauce

Literally drop everything into your crock pot, turn it on HIGH and walk away for about 3 hours.  Dinner served!

 

One response

  1. Stephen

    I don’t know…….is chicked SUPPOSED to be sweet?? I thought that was why God created COOKIES.

    January 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Leave a Reply

