BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Slow Cooker Cranberry Turkey Breast – Bumpkin

Townie had a turkey breast ready to go and our grocery store had some on sale.  I ran down to grab one so we could make a recipe this week, since I have been slacking BIG TIME!   We each did our adaptation of this recipe because it seemed (1) easy, (2) common ingredients in our homes and (3) something that would be generally liked by our families.  I, naturally, made modifications.  My husband loved the “light holiday-esque flavor” and my kids went for seconds.  I was pleased with the ease of the recipe and how tender the meat was, even though I tend to dislike the white meat on poultry, but I didn’t love the flavor.  It wasn’t bad, I just didn’t LOVE it.

I served this with a hash brown potato pie (the recipe straight from the back of the Ore Ida bag, because it was (1) easy, (2) common ingredients in our house and (3) something that would be generally liked…hahaha, following that theme tonight) and steamed broccoli.  My version of the turkey recipe yielded plenty of drippings/juice so I made it into cranberry studded gravy which probably would have been better suited for mashed potatoes or rice as a side.  But, all around an easy dinner.

The original recipe called for canned cranberry sauce – YUCK!  I had a bag of fresh berries, frozen, left from after Thanksgiving sales.  Rather than make the sauce (which might have been a little better), I threw the berries and 1/2 the bag’s recipe’s required sugar into this one pot meal, as is.  I figured there would be enough liquid in other parts of the recipe to make up for the water in the cranberry sauce instructions.  Onion soup mix is also mostly beef bullion and dried onions, so I modified that from the original turkey recipe by using liquid beef consomme – to make up for the loss of water in cranberry sauce recipe – mixed with dried, minced onions.  I am not sure if the recipe should have been more glazy, but I think the flavor notes were the same as anticipated in allrecipes’ original.

 

Ingredients adapted from allrecipes.com

1 6lb bone-in turkey breast

1 bag fresh cranberries

1/2c sugar

juice and zest from 2 oranges

1 can beef consomme

2T minced, dried onion

Let’s Make It

1. Mix all ingredients, except meat, in a bowl

2. Put turkey in crock pot and pour mixture over the top.

3. Cover and cook on HIGH for 4 hrs. *

* I flipped my turkey over about half way through cooking so the entire breast had saucy flavor.

4. There should be enough juice in the bottom of the pot to mix into gravy, either with a rue from flour/corn startch and water, or a poultry gravy mix powder like I used.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

