BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Pork Fried Rice – Bumpkin

A few years ago hubby and I took a couples, chinese cooking class (say that 5x fast!) with a group of our friends.  It was a blast.  We love asian food and while sometimes it is really nice to go down to Bamboo City for a meal, it is just as nice to know how to make that stuff at home.  We do eat a lot of asian, at home and otherwise.  We eat A LOT of stir fry and fried rice in our house.  What isn’t to love about throwing a bunch of leftover meat and rice in a pan, add come veggies,  frying it up and you have dinner?  However, last night I actually made it with fresh ingredients rather than leftovers because I wanted something quick and I had really thin, boneless pork loin chops to use.  Of course, you can use whatever meat you like and add/subtract veggies to your preference.

This is my own recipe, based on what I learned at the cooking class we took.

Pork Fried Rice

  • approx. 4 cups cooked rice (this time I used 50/50 white and brown) – the Chinese teacher told us to use cold leftover rice, but I use just-made rice all the time.
  • 2 cups meat, cut into even sized cubes
  • 1c frozen peas
  • 1c diced carrots
  • 1/2c green onion
  • 2 eggs
  • 1T sesame oil
  • 1T chopped garlic (the stuff already chopped, in a jar, from the grocery store works just fine!)
  • dashes of salt, pepper, ground ginger powder
  • Sriracha sauce and soy sauce, to taste

Let’s Make it

I season my raw meat with salt, pepper and ground ginger powder.  I also do the same with the eggs and I add a few drops of Sriracha when I scramble them in a bowl.

Heat oil in a wok, or large frying pan.  Add meat and cook until brown and crispy yummy looking.  Set aside.

Add scrambled egg to pan and whisk around until cooked.  At this point I ususally add the veggies to give them some cooking time against the hot metal before adding the meat and rice.

Add rice and meat.  Stir to combine.  If you like crispy pieces in your fried rice, keep it on heat longer before serving.

Sprinkle with soy sauce (as much as you want to add to make rice the color you like your fried rice to be.  I add about 1-2T for the entire batch.  Stir to combine.

Serve!  I top mine with Sriracha and Sweet Chili.  YUM!

Leave a Reply

