BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Baking Tuesday (late…again!) – Lemon Curd Berry Trifle

Basically, lately, I am losing track of time.  I should just post my recipes the second I am thinking about it rather than wait until you-know-my-REAL-job is done for the day 🙂  This recipe was delicious!  I LOVE lemon curd.  I LOVE berries.  I LOVE cream.  I LOVE pound cake.  There was NO WAY this recipe could fail!

I found the original on foodnetwork.com while I was searching for a quick dessert recipe for Easter after our original go-out-of-town plans fell through.  I had to shop the day before Easter, which is awful!  I hate shopping for holiday foods the weekend of the holiday.  All the good stuff is in slim pickings!  But, as it is Spring and the produce is coming out in full force, this berry dessert was a must!  This is a dumbed down version of Tyler Florence’s.

Lemon Curd Berry Trifle

adapted from Tyler Florence

Ingredients

  • 1 jar lemon curd (I use Dickinson’s)
  • 1 pint fresh strawberries, stemmed and halved lengthwise
  • 1 pint fresh blueberries
  • 1 pint fresh raspberries
  • 2 cups sweetened whipped cream – make it from scratch and just when it is about stiff I add powdered sugar and keep beating
  • 1 Sara Lee pound cake, sliced
  • 1/4 cup Limoncello or Grand Marnier liqueur (optional)
  • 1 lime, zested for decoration

Let’s Make it

To build the trifle: put the berries in a mixing bowl and toss them together so they are evenly distributed.

Fold the whipped cream into chilled lemon curd to lighten it up into a mousse.

Line a glass trifle bowl with pieces of pound cake to fit. Drizzle or brush the cake with the Limoncello. 

Spoon a layer of the lemon curd over the cake, and then a layer of mixed berries. Repeat the layers until the ingredients are used up, the last layer looks best if it’s whipped cream.

Chill before serving. Garnish.

Leave a Reply

