BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Baking Tuesday – Strawberry Vanilla Birthday Cake

I am getting to the point where maybe Tuesdays don’t work…LOL

But, this week I have an emotionally legitimate reason for being late, and it has nothing whatsoever to do with finishing a book or having too much real work to do.  I spent most of yesterday afternoon crying and last night drinking wine to get over the crying!   My eyes are pretty much puffed shut today, so if there are typos in this post you are just going to have to be more forgiving  than my priest was yesterday!  🙂

Way too much personal stuff to go into right now, but know I had every intention of being on time with “Baking Tuesday” and the stars were, once again, just not aligned!

Anyway, moving on to more chipper discussion!  Our middle child turned 8 this weekend.  Holy cow does time fly!  She is our animal lover.  I think this week was the FIRST time, and I mean EVER, she checked a book out from the library that was NOT about animals.  Needless to say, come birthday time, we typically have a living creature of some kind to design.  This year was no different.  The cat on a huge ball of yarn…hard to not smile!

This was Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe French Vanilla cake.  Which, to be honest, I love but do NOT suggest if you are attempting to make a ball cake of any kind.  It is TOO moist, if there is such a thing.  For a ball design, I will use a pound cake next time.  The shape is not very forgiving so a more dense cake is needed.  The bottom portion of this particular cake is reinforced in ways I just don’t even want to mention!

Anyway, I made the cake mix by following the recipe on the box.  I used olive oil, as usual and decreased the water by 1/3 cup.  In its place I used Cointreau (but Grand Marnier would be just as effective), because the slight orange-y flavor is nice with the strawberries.  I chopped some fresh strawberries really fine, almost to mush, and added 1/2c to the cake batter.  Bake as directed on the box (or, in my case, longer because of the high altitude).  I used cream cheese frosting with some strawberry “mush” added, which I didn’t actually measure because I was just using up what was left from what I prepped to put in the cake.  Cover in fondant.  This is Duff’s.

2 responses

  1. alotonyourplate

    Love this cake!

    April 18, 2012 at 11:47 am

  2. This is ADORABLE!

    April 18, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Leave a Reply

