BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Baking Tuesday – White Cake with Raspberry Filling

Holy Moly!  Just short of a month with no post….tsk tsk!  Needless to say, life has been HECTIC.  I have been travelling like an insane person for work, to visit my sweet new nephew, for work…did I already say that?!  I have also been sick.  I have NO idea what is going on with my throat, ears and, most strangely, my tongue but I can tell you I am REALLY tired of coughing…the bladder doesn’t quite hold up like it used to before I pushed 3 hellions out of my loins! Story for another day, and probably NOT on a food blog 🙂

Luckily, I am home for 3 weeks before I have to travel again but the same can’t be said for Townie.  Lucky lady is off to Puerto Rico!  Jealous!!!

So, you get a post today.  MAYBE one later this week and then not again until she gets back because what’s the point in having a partner to compare dinner and desserts with if the partner isn’t around to compare dinner and desserts with?!?!

Like many of my cakes, because obviously I have been lacking in the TIME department of late, this is not a from scratch cake.  It is Duncan Hines WHITE cake mix.  I made it with olive oil, added 1 T of pure vanilla extract and zested an orange into the batter to give it a fresh taste.  The filling is purchased from Cake Crafts in Englewood, Colorado.  They are just around the corner from the first house my hubby and I purchased.  This batch my friend brought to me after she went on a trip over the mountain (a 4 hour drive for us now) but you can order online and they will ship with a minimum purchase.  They have a wonderful selection of filling flavors, this being raspberry, and their coconut is AWESOME!  Bake cake according to directions, fill with filling, ice with basic buttercream and decorate with fondant.  My friend’s daughter wanted bright colors so I, once again, opted for Duff’s because his colors are very bold.

2 responses

  1. Corrina Shirley

    I would never have guessed it was a mix, thanks again it was wonderful! I”ll bring your cake stand etc to you on Sat.

    June 5, 2012 at 6:51 pm

  2. Loved your bake , so lovely! =)

    June 8, 2012 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

