BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Baking Tuesday – Citrus Butter Cookies – Bumpkin

My birthday was last month and I got Pioneer Woman’s newest cookbook, as a gift from me new-ish boss (Who I just have to tell you I pretty much adore and I am not just saying that because she could potentially read this!  She is just awesome and she loves to bake!).  It was a great gift because I have a not altogether uncommon love for Ree Drummond and whether her story is made up (like some say) or not, she is pretty entertaining.  Her cookbooks are colorful and fun and if you are looking for a down-home, easy-to-make-because-you-most-likely-already-have-everything-in-the-house kind of recipe then one of her cookbooks or her blog are a good place to look.  I have never made a Pioneer Woman recipe that didn’t please the masses.

Since it was baking Tuesday, and I have yet to actually put the new cookbook on the shelf so it was still sitting out, I started flipping through the “Sweets” chapter to find something easy-ish to bake on a weeknight.  These cookies fit the bill!  The recipe said it would yield approx. 2 dozen cookies but I made mine pretty big and still managed to get just 1 short of 3 dozen.  Of course, had I not continued to eat the raw dough (YUMMY) I probably could have rounded out the 3rd dozen no problem! 

I followed the recipe ALMOST to a tee!  My only MINOR change was that I added a splash, maybe 1/2t., of vanilla to the icing because I thought the powdered sugar was a bit overpowering.  Like every recipe I have ever tried from one of her cookbooks or the blog, these cookies did not disappoint.  The hubby even came back for seconds! 

Citrus Butter Cookies (makes 2-3doz)

adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks – Food From My Frontier by Ree Drummond

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (4 Sticks) Salted Butter, Softened
  • 1-1/2 cup Sugar
  • 2 whole Large Eggs, Separated
  • 4 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 3 Tablespoons Orange, Lemon, And Lime Zest (approx 1 Tablespoon Each)
  • 2 Tablespoons Orange, Lemon, And/or Lime Juice (2 Tablespoons Total)

Icing

  • 3 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Whole Milk
  • 2 Tablespoons Orange, Lemon, And Lime Zest
  • Juice Of 1/2 Lime
  • Juice Of 1/2 Lemon
  • Dash Of Salt
  • Extra Zest, For Decorating

Let’s Make it!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream butter and sugar until combined. Add egg yolks and mix until combined (set whites aside for the icing.) Add the zest and the flour and mix until just combined, then add juice and mix until combined.

Scoop out heaping teaspoons of dough, then roll them into balls between your hands. Place on a cookie sheet and bake for 13 minutes (which took about 16mins at my high altitude). Remove from the oven and keep on the cookie sheet for 3 to 4 minutes. Remove from the pan with a spatula and allow to cool completely before icing.

To make the icing, combine 1 egg white with the rest of the icing ingredients. Whisk thoroughly until combined, adding either more powdered sugar or more juice until it reaches a pourable but still thick consistency.

Drizzle the icing across the cookies in several lines, then do it again in the other direction. Sprinkle with extra zest before the icing sets.

Leave a Reply

