BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Bumpkin – Bacon and Leek Shrimp with Parmesan Cheese Grits

It was a shrimp night and I wanted to try something new.  Sometimes this works in my favor and other times (usually due to kids making hideous faces) it doesn’t.  Tonight was one of the latter.  While I liked what I made the kids didn’t seem at all pleased.  I threatened to NEVER cook dinner again and reminded them they are going to get rather bored of pb&j, cereal and toaster waffles since that is all they know how to cook on their own.  So, we will see how many faces I get on the next dinner I make!

I went online and searched on several different recipes for “shrimp and grits”.  I don’t know why, I just wanted to try it.  I mixed and matched to come up with what I did.

 

Bacon and Leek Shrimp 

  • 1/2 – 1 c. chopped bacon – I usually have a package of “bits and pieces”
  • 1 leek sliced into small pieces
  • 1 t. olive oil (if needed)
  • 1 lb. peeled, deveined shrimp
  • 1 lemon – juice and zest
  • 1/2 c. fresh cilantro or italian parsley, chopped
  • salt and lemon pepper, to taste

Cook bacon  in a skillet until it starts to grease the pan.  I added olive oil because my  bacon pieces didn’t render enough grease to keep the leeks from sticking to the pan. Once heated, add leeks and “sweat” until tender (about 5 minutes).  Add shrimp, zest and juice.  Cook until pink.  Salt and lemon pepper to taste.  Add cilantro just before serving so it stays fresh.

Parmesan Grits

  • 4 1/2 c. chicken stock
  • 1 c. grits
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1 c. grated, fresh parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Cook grits according to package directions.  In this case I used Quaker which took 2 1/4 cups of water to 1/2 c. of grits.  Having only had grits once in my life, I remembered them to be fairly bland and opted to use stock instead and I doubled a batch.  Basically you boil the liquid, add grits slowly, lower temp and cook until thickened.  All in all it takes about 20 minutes.  I added the butter, cheese, salt and pepper after the grits thickened.

Leave a Reply

