BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Baking Tuesday – Lemon Cream Oatmeal Bars w/ Cranberries

I actually baked ON Tuesday, rather than before like I usually would, but even then I am late.  This recipe was super easy but they had to chill so long before cutting that I fell asleep before posting. 🙂  So, here it is on Wednesday!

My boss made these and recommended I try them.  I can’t remember what website she told me to use but I found several locations that had what she was talking about.  This recipe came straight from Betty Crocker’s recipe page and I am telling you this could NOT have been any easier!!  If you are looking for something more “homemade”, The Pioneer Woman has a recipe on her site as well.

The recipe is really yummy.  My hubby just ate MORE for breakfast and told me the flavor just “explodes” in his mouth!  It is really just enough lemon, like a lemon bar, but much easier to cut.  They are great with milk, tea AND coffee!

I am off on, yet another, trip for a week.  So, I will not be around for a little while.  However, I do have a pork recipe I can post, should Townie decide pork is in order while I am away 🙂  If not, catch you in a week!!

 

Lemon Cream Oatmeal Bars

adapted from Betty Crocker

Ingredients

  •  1/2 cup cold butter
  • 1 pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker® oatmeal cookie mix
  • 1egg
  • 1can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated)
  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice (about 2 medium lemons)
  • optional (my addition) 1/2 c dried cranberries

Let’s Make it!

Heat oven to 350°F. Spray bottom of 8-inch square pan with cooking spray.

In large bowl, cut butter into cookie mix, using fork or pastry blender. Stir in egg until mixture is crumbly. If you are adding cranberries, mix in at this point.  Press half of cookie mixture into bottom of pan; bake 15 minutes.

In small bowl, stir condensed milk, lemon peel and lemon juice until thick. Spread over baked crust. Crumble remaining cookie mixture over top. Bake about 25 minutes longer or until light golden brown. Refrigerate 30 minutes or until set. For bars, cut into 5 rows by 5 rows. Store covered in refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

