BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

French Onion Pasta – Bumpkin

I am not even going to attempt an explanation at where I have been for the last month.  Just know, it is beyond a list of ridiculous proportions so we are putting it behind us and moving on!  I am ready to get back into the groove, so here goes….

I found this recipe on Pinterest (of course).  I modified it only by adding a rotisserie chicken, shredded and swapping out the marsala for sherry because it is what I already had in the house and I didn’t want an additional stop at the liquor store with a 3yr old in tow!  1 of my kids liked it, 1 hated it and 1 ate it because she will eat just about anything you put in front of her!  Hubby and I liked it, I will probably make it again.  As I was eating it however, I kept thinking it would be ever so much better to make as a GREAT way to use up leftover pot roast.  Just a thought!!

French Onion Pasta

adapted from Stephanie Cooks

Ingredients:

2 cups of uncooked penne pasta
1 to 1.5 cup of chicken stock
1 packet of Lipton’s Onion Soup mix
1 scallion, finely diced
2 cloves of garlic, smashed
1/2 cup of marsala wine
4 tablespoons of light cream
1 tablespoon of flour
1/4 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese
1 tablespoon of EVOO

I added – 1 rotisserie chicken, or leftover pot roast (yummy!)
Let’s Make It!
1- Cook pasta according to directions, set aside and keep warm.
2- In a saucepan, heat the EVOO. Add the scallions and garlic, stir continually until soft and fragrant.
3- Add the marsala wine, scraping the bottom of the pan to remove any stuck on pieces of onion.
4- Add the stock and soup mix packets, allow to cook on low for about 20 minutes.
5- Stir in flour, whisking continually until well incorporated and thickened.
6- Add the light cream, mix well.
7- Add the meat and pasta to the sauce, stir well.
8- Pour into an oven safe dish. Top with the mozzarella cheese.
9- Set it under the broiler until the cheese gets a little crispy.

Leave a Reply

