BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Cheap Korean Beef – Bumpkin

I know I owe you baking from last week.  It is also baking Tuesday today so, technically I should be posting something sweet and yummy.  Unfortunately, I have baked twice this week and both have been disastrous!  I refuse to post either.  Baking Tuesday will be later this week as I make another attempt at something edible!

So, today I am posting this super easy, super yummy, “cheap” Korean Beef!  I found the recipe on Pinterest (naturally!) and the entire family LOVED, <3, LOVED  it!  Next time I have to double the recipe!

I added green beans so, we would have a veggie with the meal, served over rice with some kim chees on the side.  YUM!

Cheap Korean Beef
adapted from lizzy writes

1 pound lean ground beef
1/4 – 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used 1/4c.)
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 Tablespoon sesame oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced (see note)
1/2 – 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers (to desired spiciness)
salt and pepper
1 bunch green onions, diced (Original recipe says “don’t skip this!” although I added mine in a little earlier, during the cooking phase)
2 cups green beans

Heat a large skillet over medium heat and brown hamburger with garlic in the sesame oil. Drain most of the fat and add brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, salt and pepper and red peppers. Simmer for a few minutes to blend the flavors. Serve over steamed rice and top with green onions.

Note from Elizabeth Bryant: here’s a trick I learned from Rachael Ray about fresh ginger. I love using fresh ginger in recipes but I never seem to have it on hand since it goes rotten in the refrigerator before I can use it. So, the next time you’re at the store grab a large piece of ginger. Peel the entire thing and cut it into 1/2 inch pieces. Put it into a storage bag and keep it in the refrigerator. When you need a few teaspoons or so, all you have to do it pull out one of the small pieces and grate the alloted amount with your Microplane or a zester. It grates really well frozen! Ta da!

One response

  1. Pingback: Korean beef « ilonaskitchen

Leave a Reply

