BF&F – Best Friends and Foodies

Italian Sausage and Ravioli Soup – Bumpkin

I took out pork the other day because I was in the mood for pork.  When I opened the package to cook it, it smelled to high heaven!  I didn’t know pork could smell so nasty.  Needless to say, we did not eat THAT pork.  But, Townie had already posted pork for the day so I remember I had made this soup about a week ago and happened to take a photo so I would have some stuff in the “archive”.  The sausage is made from pork, so it fit the bill!

Our grocery store brand of Italian chub sausage is really good, so I always have some in my freezer.  I stock up when it goes on sale to throw into sauce and what not when we need a quick protein.  However, when I took it out this last time I was NOT in the mood for pasta and sauce.  The weather has turned so I was thinking soup.  I had some spinach that needed to be used, a pint of homemade spaghetti sauce and some frozen raviolis.  Out came THIS invention, that the family loved and WILL be made again.

I served with a crisp green salad and some crusty sour dough.  YUMMY!!

Italian Sausage and Ravioli Soup

Ingredients

1 lb italian sausage
1 pint spaghetti sauce
1+ qrts chicken stock
frozen ravioli (I had a small bag, so maybe 25)
2 c spinach
spices to taste
Parmesan cheese, garnish

Let’s Make It!

In a pan cook sausage until done. 

In a large pot, bring spaghetti sauce and enough stock to made consistency you desire, to a boil.  Add ravioli and cook until done.  Add sausage, spinach and spices.

Serve hot, topped with parmesan cheese.  YUMMY!

One response

  1. Dad

    Homemade sauce? Did you use the Elk sauce I made?

    October 19, 2012 at 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

